Cold Comfort Ice Cream: Creative Ice Cream Recipes from Snowy New England

Malt Ice Cream

Posted on: January 7, 2010

The holy trinity of malts!

I’m just going to preface this post by saying that I love malt. I love it so much that it’s almost impossible for a malted milkshake or an ice cream to be too malty for me. I think it’s a seriously underrated flavor that most people would love if they tried it. So when I decided that I was going to come up with my own recipe for a malted milk ice cream, I knew it had to pack a wallop of flavor. At first I thought that that would simply mean adding malted milk powder to the base of my ice cream, but in a stroke of genius I remembered an old, forgotten can of barley malt syrup in my closet. Barley malt syrup is a natural sweetener that can be used in equal amounts in substitution for honey, molasses or sugar in recipes. It’s also used as a part of the process in making authentic bagels and pretzels, which is why I originally purchased it. But best of all, it is some deeply malty stuff that did double duty in my recipe by sweetening and boosting the flavor of the ice cream simultaneously.

What a Whopper!

In addition to the malt syrup, I added flavor to the ice cream by adding malt powder to the base of my ice cream, and crushed malted milk balls to the finished ice cream. This resulted in an ice cream with a big, delicious malt flavor punctuated by the frequent crunch of a malted milk ball bursting between your teeth. Malt powder is usually found in the dried milk section of the grocery store, but don’t confuse it with Ovaltine which isn’t what you’re looking for. Brands such as Carnation or Horlicks are pretty dependable and readily available.

Malty goodness!

As for the malt syrup, that’s probably going to be trickier to find. I found mine at a local health food store, and Whole Foods might carry it. Trust me though, it’s worth the trek to find it. The syrup made the ice cream deeply flavorful in a way I’ve never experienced before just using malted milk powder. It also added a slight background caramel note that I found appealing. I also have suspicions that the malt syrup may have helped the texture of my ice cream as well. This ice cream came out particularly smooth and creamy, so I think that the syrup may have acted as a stabilizer similar to the way corn syrup would behave in a recipe.

The malt ice cream of dreams.

With malt powder, malt syrup, and chocolated covered malted milk balls, I definitely got my fix of malty goodness in this ice cream recipe. And man, was it good! If you love malted milkshakes as much as I do, you have to give this a try. It turned out smooth and thick with a creamy malt flavor permeating every bite. Forget the drive thru, and make this soda shop classic for yourself at home!

Malt Ice Cream Recipe

Ingredients:

1 ½ cups heavy cream

1 ½ cups whole milk

¼ cup sugar

½ cup barley malt syrup

4 large egg yolks

pinch of salt

½ cup malted milk powder

2 cups coarsely crushed malted milk balls

½ teaspoon vanilla extract

      1.) Combine milk, heavy cream and sugar in a medium saucepan and set over medium heat. Heat until bubbles appear near the rim of the saucepan and steam begins to rinse, but do not let it boil.

2.)    Meanwhile whisk the egg yolks together in a large bowl and gradually add the malt syrup. Whisk the mixture until the yolks look fluffier and turn a paler yellow color.

3.)    All the while whisking the egg yolk mixture, slowly and gradually add milk mixture and when fully emulsified, pour the mixture back into the medium saucepan. Over low heat constantly mix the base with a spatula or wooden spoon until it thickens slightly and can coat the back of a wooden spoon, about 4-5 minutes.

4.)    Immediately remove from heat and transfer to a large bowl. Add the pinch of salt, malt powder, and vanilla extract refrigerate 4 hours to overnight. Freeze according to your ice cream machine’s instructions. Add in the malted milk balls after the ice cream finishes churning.  

 Make it a sundae!

This ice cream is a natural when paired with chocolate. Make a chocolate malt sundae by adding hot fudge spiked with malt powder, more crushed malted milk balls, and whipped cream.  And of course this ice cream also makes fabulous malted milkshakes. Enjoy!

1 Response to "Malt Ice Cream"

Wow…Amazing.
Yummy….nice collection of ice cream… Seeing the paradoxical nice article,
I will definitely try this ice cream – so simple and delicious!
This looks like a great ice cream recipe to try! I have my homemade ice cream maker bucket in the freezer as I write…looking forward to more ice cream recipe ideas…thanks!
I am glad to see this blog. I am giving thanks to this site for give such great information about ice cream. I am providing this type of service. This type of information is awesome for me.
Now this one looks yummy! I love condensed milk where I’m at; we spread it on plain white loaf and enjoy it already. Mores as homemade ice cream! Will try this one for sure
Cowabunga Ice Cream

Leave a Reply

